And the Battle is Won: Upgrade? Fund 2012

Posted: March 20, 2012 by Is This Revolutionary? in General Discussion
Tags: , ,

We’ve done it, we’ve done it, we’ve done it! Yes, it’s true, Is This Revolutionary? is now fully funded. Never in my wildest dreams could I have imagined that we’d be here with the money necessary to revamp our website. To say I’m excited is a complete understatement; watching Ricky & I’s baby grow, now with Anthony here to nurture it as well, has been extraordinary. Now, without further ado, our promise to you:

1. David Palmer, musician and guest columnist to Is This Revolutionary?, has been the utmost help in getting us off the ground. Without going into to much detail, Mr. Palmer has given us more than we could ever hope to repay, and we can only get started on that by kicking this project into high gear. He’s a kind and generous man (who’s done everything I wish I did [He even chilled with Earth Crisis and saw Gorilla Biscuits back in the day]), and I cannot believe we’ve been as lucky as we are to have had someone like him with us on this journey.

2. Jennifer Arriozola was our first donor, and believed we could accomplish our goal from the launch of our fundraiser. Constantly promoting it on Twitter and elsewhere, she inspired us to see this through, even when we wanted to just pack it up and cut our losses. She’s a great friend of mine, and I’m happy she is in my life.

3. Ryan Brady & Ray Duer: “Love from Ryan and Ray” pretty much captures everything that can be said about these guys, also known as the duo behind Still Blue Still Turning. I met them at a show in Brooklyn (specifically Signal Hill, CALLS, and Twincities) and I could tell they were easy-going and intelligent people. Even before I met them, I knew they were geniuses from the sound of their music and the themes it surrounded. They’ve helped out more than they know (long nights of thinking/writing/gaming to American Artist and Hurricanes), and I hope to give back just as much.

4.  Greg and Brian from USSA Pleasuredome found us through Family? member Time Columns, and although I have not taken a listen to their music, I hope to get to soon. Little did they know that they came just in time: the day they donated, I had made a decision to shut down the fundraiser the next day due to a lack of interest outside friends and Family? members alone. Once I saw that our reach expanded past our usual boundaries, it inspired me to keep it running until the end, just to see what happens. Greg & Brian directly and indirectly set us up for success, and for that, we thank you.

In closing, we are thankful to everyone who’s ever donated, spread the word, or even read our blog and thought it was a good thing to spend your time on. We’re planning on getting everything out by mid-April (if everything goes according to plan), so anyone who donated will get their well-deserved rewards soon enough. Now, with the funding we so needed, we push onward once more.

B.

Leave a Reply

