Drone- Doors of Perception (2011)

Posted: February 10, 2012 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

First and foremost, I’d like to say thank you to this band for sending me their physical album all the way from Denmark. Though it doesn’t really play into how I grade their music, it’s nice to know that a band values our opinion enough to send a CD to Is This Revolutionary? headquarters.

Drone labels themselves as a Danish progressive pop-rock band, but hailing from Hamburg, Germany. They list their sources of inspiration as “King Crimson, Nine Inch Nails, Porcupine Tree, Tool, Nirvana and the early Genesis”, which is a eclectic mix, to say the least. The vocals are very grunge, with all the 90’s angst, but more polished and clean. There definitely is some synthesizer in there, which Ricky would love, but does nothing for me.

The vocals are constantly layered, which is a pretty big criticism. It’s a pop-rock prog band, so they are going to be pretty vocals heavy, but it all sounded so similar. In addition, the attitude that this band gives off screams maturity, but the lyrical content sometimes becomes a little too juvenile for my taste. For example, the line “Take your cash up your ass” occurs over and over again on one song, and it irked me a bit.

Rating: For the prog lover, I’m sure this would be a hit. It certainly takes a lot of influence from Tool (and from Staind, believe it or not), and they have musical talent to spare. Depending on one’s mood, one can be taken into the energy of the album, or can become quite bored with the music. It feels like Drone is trying to deliver a message with Doors of Perception, but I have yet to find what this is. I feel like my opinion is somewhat skewed because of my personal distaste of the genre, and this is supported by other reviews of the same album, which scream this as the best album to be produced in 2011. Because of this, and because the guys from Drone seem to be great guys, I wish them the best of luck, and I hope they continue producing the music they love. As for me, I give Doors of Perception a 1/5 kegs.

 

 

|||Purchase|||Facebook|||

B.

Comments
  1. Mr. Scrotum says:

    YOU MONSTER

Leave a Reply

