Cloudkicker- Beacons (2011)

Posted: September 7, 2011 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, Reviews
Tags: ,

The first track made me hate this album for such a long time. I couldn’t get past it.It sounded so broken, so poorly done, that I didn’t even give the rest of the album a chance. I had it for a while, and I didn’t decide to give it another try until two different bands endorsed it. I figured it was worth another shot, and the more and more I listened to it, the better it sounded. To be honest, a lot of the songs kind of blended in the middle to the point that I couldn’t exactly follow what was going on, but they all poured out this feeling of rage. I don’t know why I tapped into it at this moment, but it just fueled a lot of emotions I had been having. World grievances, my lack of worth in the big picture and my inevitable demise (things that Matt Finney normally make me feel), this album made me just want to smash shit while listening.  “We’re Going In. We’re Going Down.” was an extremely creative track. One that I listened to on repeat, maybe three times, before I finished the rest of the album because it seriously teared it up. The amazing part about all of this is that Cloudkicker is just one man, and that’s pretty impressive.

Not your conventional post-rock for sure (to get technical, it’s progressive metal), Cloudkicker’s Ben Sharp of Columbus, Ohio is a one-man wrecking ball, a ball full of pent-up energy and emotion just waiting to explode. Guy’s very technical and an incredible musician, even when he’s not on a rampage (“I Admit It Now. I Was Scared.” was brilliant).  Recommended by the guys at Chiaroscuro and Armistice Sound, I suggest you give this one a better try than I gave it originally. 3.5/5 kegs.

|||Download|||

B.

Leave a Reply

