Sleepmakeswaves – … And So We Destroyed Everything (2011)

Posted: August 29, 2011 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, Reviews
Tags: , ,

[Author’s Note: I KNEW I heard Matt Finney’s voice on track 4. I thought I was going nuts.]

I am inseparable from Australia. Our fates seem to be tied together like some sort of awful romance novel. From the first time I listened to Hilltop Hoods, Australia has frequently popped up in my life as a place I actually wanted to live in (pure coincidence, of course). Not only would it find me in my free time, a place that I could study abroad for my major, but it’s also found me here a couple of times. First, the indie-post-rock band Grun. Now Sleepmakeswaves, a name as long as their song titles.

Sleepmakeswaves has a sound very similar to early This Will Destroy You: powerful, energetic riffs with a slight electronic edge. Not that they are a complete rip-off, but they do share some sounds. Honestly, every single song off this album could be played at the falling action of every good action movie. In fact, I was playing this as I finally beat Dragon Age II (if you ever get the chance, such a good game), and it all fit so well, especially as monsters were being slain and ruins were crumbling at my feet.

This album varies between the soft and the intense. Just right off the bat, the first track of the album was soothing, but exciting, in that film score kind of way. But, when you hit “In Limbs and Joints”, you get this more powerful Gifts From Enola type feel. Even in the same song, such as “A Gaze Blank and Pitiless as the Sun”, the mood shifts from calm and graceful to a sound as heavy as they get (which, in retrospect, is as heavy as the lighter parts of Gifts From Enola, rather than their actual heavy parts).

Rating: To tell you the truth, it was a nice listen. A solid album, one that I’ve listened to a couple of times and haven’t gotten bored or anything with it. It fits into my music collection as a good, standard post-rock album. On the other side of that coin, there was nothing that really popped out at me as being earth shattering or absolutely incredible. They get a couple of really good moments (or one entire song in the case of “In Limbs and Joints”), but in the same vein as Mogwai’s last album, nothing really shinesas being something that makes this album spectacular. It was certainly worth the listen, especially to see what these guys are all about, and I look forward to hearing more from them. 3/5 kegs.


|||Purchase|||Facebook|||Download|||

Leave a Reply

