Maybeshewill – I Was Here For A Moment, Then I Was Gone (2011)

Posted: August 8, 2011 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, Reviews
Tags: , , ,

This was released MONTHS ago, and I listened to it from the end of school up until this very moment. The reason why it took so long to post is because I lost my laptop for a little bit and it escaped me that I never actually put this review up. If you want a detailed analysis, read on. If you just want to cut to the chase, kicked the shit out of their last one, tied with their first one.

For me, I Was Here For A Moment, Then I Was Gone was a sign of better times. When this was released, Mogwai had just recently (within the past couple of months) come out their less-than-stellar Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will, and I was shocked at the amount of great reviews that album got. Mogwai are incredible, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes I feel like some writers suck up to bands such as them because of their history. I kind of lost interest in writing these kinds of reviews because I felt like good, honest opinion was dead to a lot of the music world. I hope to be a different story.

Where Not For Want Of Trying left off, I feel this album picked back up. This album felt so much lighter and happier than their last, and I think “Critical Distance” is a good summation of everything this album has to offer. It has energy, it has the creativity and it certainly has that extra oomph that separates this band from most of the others in the genre. I Was Here For A Moment, Then I Was Gone has some serious positive energy, but that’s not to say that they never get heavy. “An End To Camaraderie” has it’s heavy points, but it doesn’t hit anywhere near “To The Skies From A Hilside”, the first single released off this album. It’s pretty much my background music to doing absolutely anything epic and exciting. It gets soft at points, then hits hard, and is a perfect way to end the album.

Rating: This album pretty much has it all for me. It’s beautifully written, arranged and executed. And thankfully, none of the parts were lacking, seeing how Maybeshewill wouldn’t be Maybeshewill without electronics, heavy guitar and energy. Pure energy. My only criticism with this album is it’s absence of any use of media samples. There is nothing I would have loved more than another “I Heart Huckabees” or “Network” quote. Alas, if that’s the album’s only downfall, that’s pretty good. I’m giving it a 4.5/5 kegs. Beautiful performance, can’t wait to see you in the U.S..

|||Download|||Facebook|||Our Interview with Maybeshewill|||

B.

Leave a Reply

