I Am The Architect/John Praw- Gate (2010)

Posted: August 1, 2011 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, Reviews
Tags: , , , , , ,

The new album from I Am The Architect was supposed to be out already (well, it reads “this summer” on the website, so I guess they still have time), and I am so overly ready for it, it’s insane. Their 2008 11 EP was incredible, and I’ve been waiting and waiting for their next release. If anyone else is in the same boat as me, hopefully this will tie you over.

Gate is a split between the German post-rock band I Am The Architect and John Praw, a self-described “ambient, minimalist” musician out of Madison, Wisconsin. This being my first exposure to Mr. Praw (who used to go by [praw], if anyone remembers him by that name), I didn’t know what to expect going in. I trusted that I.A.T.A. knew what they were doing in pairing with this man for not only this split, but also having him remix their song for the 3rd track of this album.

John Praw certainly has less flair than a lot of the music we post on here, but I think the elegance is in the lack of sound rather than the presence.  I feel like John Praw is a more toned-down version of God Is An Astronaut, complete with the mellow piano and spacy [what I can only guess to be] guitar. The song doesn’t really go much of anywhere, and at points it sounds like he just put the sound together and then looped it until infinity (or pretty much 6 minutes). Being a somewhat fan of Drone Metal (limited exposure, but I like what I hear), I thought I’d be swooning over Mr. Praw’s work, but the simple fact is that, even though it’s really calming and quiet, it’s only true purpose for me is background music for doing something creative or important (but, in those instances, I have The American Dollar). Maybe I don’t understand where he’s drawing his inspiration from, or maybe I’m just never going to be a fan, but all I can say is don’t knock it until you try it. Maybe someone out there will fall in love with his work, but as for me, I’ll stick to just good, ol’ fashioned post-rock for my peaceful place soundtrack.

I Am The Architect, however, explodes with their song “Walk In Regret”, not only in its original form, but also with a remix from John Praw himself. The song starts off kind of slow, but the beat soon gets faced paced, and the hook you will not be able to get out of your head. Ever. It’s so distant, but yet, so powerful. To add onto the feeling of distance, John Praw did an incredible remix that competes with the original to be the best of the album. The beginning starts off in a very Praw fashion, with very limited happening in a very long period of time, and then around 4:45, he breaks it down with this glitchy drum beat and this groovy guitar line that I love. Honestly, really impressed with what he made out of this song.

Rating: I’m not going to give this a keg’d rating because this is only a 3-song split, but for what it’s worth, 2 out of the 3 songs I loved. One was listenable, but not up to the quality the others were. I would like to hear some more Praw remixes, because I think that’s where he really shines.

|||Download|||Facebook|||

B.

Comments
  1. […] discovered John Praw through a split he did with I Am The Architect some time ago. Thought I wasn’t really crazy for his own contributions on that album, his […]

Leave a Reply

