Braveyoung- We Are Lonely Animals (2011)

Posted: July 26, 2011 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, Reviews
Tags: , , ,

Tonight was, by far, the worst night of my entire life. Despite the fact that this blog is half my amusement and half my therapist, I will spare any of the few of you reading this the details. I needed to put this up after a night like tonight; it fits the mood perfectly.

For any of you that remember Giant, the really awesome band that used to tour with such acts as Between the Buried and Me, this is them, redefined. For those confused by the switch, I think Sal may have gotten it right: “They really liked heavy music, so they made a band that played heavy music. They then realized that they hated playing in a heavy band, so they just started making exceptionally pretty music. They saw the name change as a way out and they took it.” Now, I don’t know if this is an accurate statement, but it makes sense, and really all that matters now is Braveyoung.

Braveyoung brought the same incredible sound, but switched up the format. We Are Lonely Animals now has multiple songs instead of 2 HUGE songs, but that doesn’t make a difference. The fact is that Braveyoung make some of the most emotional post-rock I’ve ever heard. It’s just wave after wave of sadness, and then a burst of energy (case and point: “And No Two Walked Together”) and then a pull straight back. I’ve never, ever felt this…empty. Essentially, this album is a lot of highs and lows. It brings out the absolute worst in you. It makes you feel so alone in this world, so distant from every other human being. It’s just you and every single note in the night air. The vocals in “The Weight of Loss is Whole” just makes you want to put one through your temple, but you hold on for its beauty. Its quaint beauty in its recording, the light static and scratchy-ness, gets you right in the soft spot. Thankfully, the album doesn’t leave you hanging by a thread the whole time. All of a sudden, sometimes when you least expect it, they explode with such passion, bleeding out the desire to fix whatever is broken. The guitars, strings and drums all ring out in such unison that you forget when it actually began because you’re so stuck in the moment that that’s all that matters. And then it’s gone. This album takes an emotional toll on me the likes of which have never been seen. I can’t tell you what time signature they play on, how tuned up or down they are, but I can tell you that they breath the essence of the desire of completion.

Rating: I was too quick to call this a 5/5 kegs. It’s been an awful, really distant night. It’s just captured so much of my emotions for tonight that I wanted to shout from my rooftops that this is the best album ever created. The fact is that they took a formula, low to high then back down to low, every time. The thing was that they executed it with grace and made it almost unnoticeable if you get as sucked in as I did the first time I heard this. 4.5/5 kegs for a beautiful work of art.

|||Download|||Facebook||| BUY THIS ALBUM. BUY SOME MERCHANDISE. SUPPORT THE ARTIST.|||

B.

Comments
  1. […] favorite newly-discovered band. I had a chance to see them in Brooklyn (long, awful story), I just recently reviewed their newest album, and have become completely and totally sucked into their style and sound. I never heard The Body, […]

Leave a Reply

