Heinali & Matt Finney- Dreamcatcher (2011)

Posted: May 3, 2011 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, album stream, Reviews, Stream
Tags: , , ,

Streaming at the bottom of the page.

For the past couple of months or so, I’ve been trying to fill my life with meaning. I’ve gotten a job, I’ve kept this blog alive, I’m starting another side project with a friend of mine; I’m doing everything in my power to pull myself out of the abyss that is life. And every time I start making progress, these guys come and release a new album and the cycle starts all over again.

To be perfectly honest, this isn’t my favorite work of Heinali & Matt Finney. The Southern Spoken Work/Ukraine Shoegaze duo certainly had their work cut out for them this time, though: a 30 minute long track. To be fair, it may not be truly 100% their fault because of my short attention span, but over the course of that half an hour, Mr. Finney only spoke twice. Both were amazing verses, both really fit in well with the mood of the music, but sometimes the sound just got real repetitive, real quick. The second verse was by far my favorite, as I could personally connect with what he was saying, but that’s not permission to write off the rest of this album. If you are willing to put this up in the background, brave through the monotonous sound (it’s good up until you hit about 15 minutes of it, and then you’re just waiting for the final verse) just for some beautiful poetry, then by all means, go for this.

|||Download|||

B.

Leave a Reply

