Claro de Luna- Lo Que Ha Sido Y Lo Que Será (2011)

Posted: April 28, 2011 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, album stream, Reviews
Tags: , , ,

Good, I was in the mood for something different tonight.

[Streaming at the bottom of the page]

Okay, I seem to have a thing for Latin American post-rock. I don’t know, maybe it’s the spirit of it all, but I firmly stand behind the idea that Latin America has their own brand of post-rock, which I adore. It’s so soul-driven; the bass lines are incredible, and the sound is more like rock, but without vocals, which is a sharp contrast to much of the ambient style that’s being produced today. Claro de Luna, however, take the idea of post-rock right from the middle of the road.

One part shoegaze, one part of that ol’ Latino heart and soul and you’ve got Claro de Luna, the one-piece project of a one Mr. Jose Acuña. Yes, I emphasized one piece because the sound is so complex that I thought Well, it must be, like, a million-piece band. I was so wrong. Just one man can make one of the most brilliant pieces of art this year. The trick with this band is to not go into it expecting Nino Koi, fast-paced post-rock. Instead, it fused that fun sound core with an ambient, beautiful exterior to make something, I feel, is truly revolutionary. Take “Perpetulo” for example; it’s reminiscent of Giants with it’s guitar, but it seriously has a God Is An Astronaut ambiance that I feel is unmatched by any band I’ve heard from that area. Seriously, this album is a bunch of the best movie-ending sequence soundtracks ever established, but that’s not the only appeal. Want the most mystical, spiritually intense hour of your life? Pop this in while just staring up at the stars, and you’ll swear you’ve seen the universe. In addition, this also makes the best nighttime cruising music. Ever.

Rating: Well, I must say, this was quite an experience. Not what I was expecting from Costa Rican post-rock band, but also not what I was expecting from a one-person project. I’ll settle it down at a 4.5 out of 5. It was beautiful and powerful, yet not overwhelming. “Luces del Cielo”, with the incredible female accent vocals, completely takes the cake as the best track on the album. Pick this one up, for absolutely free, and feel inspired.


|||Download|||Facebook|||Bandcamp|||

B.

*Author’s note: Mr. Acuña, if you’re reading this, don’t stop doing this. Seriously, I’m ready for another album.

Comments
  1. jose says:

    Hi; thank you for the review. I’m already thinking about make some new CdL music. 🙂

    Thanks again!

    _Jose.

Leave a Reply

