Heinali and Matt Finney – Conjoined (2010)

Posted: March 1, 2011 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, Reviews
Tags: ,

I’m going to be perfectly honest, things I may say in this may be either too short or too blunt. Just a warning.

At first, I laughed even at the concept. Spoken word over post-rock. It sounded like a giant, pretentious mess; one that, no matter how hard I scrubbed, I’d never be clean. He approached me as a nice guy, though. A lot of these bands put out these mass emails to people, but this guy seemed to have sent this one out specifically for us, which already gave me a good vibe. He wrote:

I’m Matt and I’m a spoken word artist
from Alabama. I make music with a composer from the Ukraine named
Heinali. We’ve released 3 critically acclaimed EPs. They’ve been on
many 2010 year end lists (The Dumbing of America, Veins Dried Out,
Eastside/Westside) and we signed with Paradigms Recordings not too
long ago. We just finished our 4th album. Our music is a mix
of ambient/drone/doomgaze/spoken word with a lot of cinematic textures
to it.

Now that’s a rather large pile of “lolwut?”. Doomgaze? American-Ukrainian hybrids? Intelligent life coming out of Alabama? I had to see what this was all about. What I got wasn’t as surprising as I was expecting, which was pretty good.

The songs were moderately long, around 4-6 minutes, which was good, because I didn’t know how long he could talk for. His words hit like fists, crushing into your gut and ringing in your head. God, he ripped me an emotional new one, keeping me hanging on his every word, but still trying to recover from the sting of his last phrase.

For the music, it was very dark at all times. Sad, dreary, but at the same time, intense and powerful. Though I felt that the main focus of this band was the vocals, the ambient feel of the guitarist is absolutely incredible.

Rating: Jeez, I don’t know if I’ve ever given this rating, but I’m giving this a 4.5 out of 5.

|||Purchase|||Bandcamp|||

B.

Leave a Reply

