Mogwai- Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will (2011)

Posted: February 15, 2011 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

Yeah, that’s right. Just came out today. ITR? always takes care of its family.

Both Ricky and I will be reviewing this album today. Naturally, I’m earlier, so look out for his later today.

Wow, what hasn’t been said about Mogwai. Practically revolutionizing the genre, I put them into The Big Five of Post-Rock [Mogwai, Sigur Rós, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Mono and Explosions In The Sky]. They’re absolutely incredible, and considering the over 130,000 fans they have on Facebook, the world knows it too. That’s why, when the album leaked months ago, everyone scrambled to get their copy. I, on the other hand, waited until today to grab mine, effectively opening my long-awaited present with the rest of the world. What I got was nice: a good album with only a few little, tiny moments of “Eh”.

There are some really solid tracks on this album. Right out of the gate, Mogwai returns us to the peaceful landscapes we’ve come so accustom to. No matter how strange it was, I loved “Mexican Grand Prix”. At the end, the vocals sounded a little bit like Ladytron (listen to “Seventeen” and you’ll understand) . But at the same time, they threw some things out there that I just wasn’t digging. For instance, on “George Square Thatcher Death Party”, they used some sort of Peter Frampton-esque Talk Box, which kind of got on my nerves a bit. Not into it. Lastly, the sample used in “You’re Lionel Richie” was a bit annoying, and kind of killed the atmosphere the song was giving in the beginning. In my opinion, these can be overlooked. Songs like “How To Be A Werewolf” would undoubtedly go on my list of Top Tracks of 2011. Overall, I really liked this album, though it’s not really like any of their other ones. Objectively, I think it’s a pretty decent album.

Rating: HWNDBYW gets a 3.5/5 kegs in my book.

|||Download AND THEN PURCHASE HERE|||Facebook|||Website|||Myspace|||

B.

Comments
  1. Reyes says:

    good contribution, nice website design and style, keep up the great work

Leave a Reply

