Sky Architects -The Reflection (2010)

Posted: February 8, 2011 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, Reviews
Tags: , ,

It’s been a very, very long day. The last thing I wanted to do was review anything. But, their email caught my eye.

We play progressive rock with heavy influences from post-rock, post-metal and pop. We call it Doom-Pop

I looked to their Facebook page. I saw “Mr. Paradise – Vocal/Guitar”. The last thing I wanted to hear: shitty vocals on a mediocre post-rock sound. Wincing, I pushed play.

What I got was unexpected: incredible vocals on a unique post-rock sound. The total antithesis of what I expected. Thing was: I kind of got the Doom-pop vibe. Songs like “These Walls” had this guitar line that’s been practically unrivaled by many of today’s top post-rock bands. Their sound really ranged between The American Dollar, Signal Hill and Eyehategod. Their vocals fit the mood entirely. Not whiny, not screaming, really reminded me of the male vocalist from Ef. Nor was it the main focus of the song. Some tracks didn’t even have vocals. This really was the clearest example between bands with a vocalist and those with “lead singers”. Small time band with big time heart, Sky Architects are really not to be missed. Considering they’ve already shared the stage with 65daysofstatic, And So I Watch You From Afar and Caspian, they already look like they’re going places. I really didn’t have a favorite track. I feel taking one track out of this album would truly take away from the beauty of the album as a whole. Listen to the whole album. Make it an experience. Live.

Rating: I’m giving these Danes a 5/5 kegs. Incredible work.

|||Download|||Myspace|||Facebook|||Last.fm|||

B.

Leave a Reply

