Kimosabi- Self-Titled

Posted: February 1, 2011 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, Reviews
Tags: , ,

Ever since I had the joy of discovering Niño Koi, I’ve been itching to listen to more Latin-American post-rock. What I got was Kimosabi, a 4-piece band from Argentina who really defines the genre. Now, I’ve listened to what I believe is a fair share of post-rock in my day, and I think Kimosabi confirmed my hypothesis: Latin-American post-rock bands really seem to bring out the rock in post-rock. I mean, seriously, in “Generación” there were these guitar riffs and solos that brought me back to late 70’s early 80’s rock music. Swaying from the atmospheric sound of a lot of bands today, these guys bring it back to what should be the roots of post-rock.

Now, I can’t tell you much about this band’s history (seeing as I can’t read Spanish [even after 4 years of classes] and the entire website is in Spanish). What I can tell you is this: this band is inspirational. Never a truly sad or dull moment, though it may get slow sometimes. Whereas bands will thrive on the painting of a celestrial landscape, Kimosabi comes at you full-force with compelling guitar and enough crash symbol to wake your neighbors at half-volume. The thing I love about this band is they don’t try to impress or do anything fancy. The whole album sounds like one big jam session, and I think that’s part of the charm. Just from their instruments, it makes you think that you’ve known them forever. Favorite track? “Komodo”.

Rating: Solid 3/5 for the boys from Argentina.

 

 

|||Download|||Website|||

B.

Comments
  1. Gabriel says:

    Good to know your website is interested in latin american post rock. Being argentinian i am honored. I am big fan of the genre and i can give you some recommendations of other great local bands if you like, just mail me.

    Cheers,
    Gabriel

  2. […] isthisrevolutionary.com es un blog dedicado a la música independiente. Leer artículo (ingles) […]

  3. Jeff says:

    Nice songs, great review !

Leave a Reply

