Sal’s Retrospective 2010 Best

Posted: January 3, 2011 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, General Discussion, Playlists, Reviews
Tags: ,

Let’s be quick to the point.

8. John K. Samson- Provincial Road 222

Let me start off by saying that the one and only flaw with this album is
that it’s only an EP. If this were a full lenth it would probobly be at
the one or the two spot, but it left me wanting so much more. John
Samson (frontman for the Weakerthans) is one of the most talented
songwriters ever born. He creates such small moments of beauty and
clarity and makes it look so easy you just want to give up. Also, his
love for Hockey and all things Canada is so endearing it’s likely to
split your heart in two.
7. Delta Spirit- History From Below

I would say the real reason why I loved this album enough to put it on my
top for the year is the amount of balls it took Delta Spirit to take
their fun and soul-full California sound and turn it more serious, to
strip it down and devote more to songwriting and to meaning than to
catchiness. I think the result is a less-commerically appealing and
beautiful true American album. You can feel the months on the road and
the real grit of musicianship in this record.
Download
6. Johnny Flynn-  Been Listening

This man keeps the English troubadour alive with his dusty songs about the
road and about women and about nothing at all. He writes in the true
Queen’s tradition of word games and circle-talk, minus the pretension
and shitty sentiments. If this album doesn’t make you want to pick up
your guitar and go, nothing will. Buy it.
Download
5. Tim Kasher- The Game of Monogamy

If you pay attention to this place, you’d have read my absolutely crazy
review
of this record. To sum it up: it tore me up, spit me out and told
me it was my fault. The Game of Monogamy is destructive, and nothing
short of it.
Download
4. A Silver Mt. Zion- Kollaps Tradixionales

Every album it seems A Silver Mt Zion moves further and further from the
post-rock title that they chiseled in stone over a decade ago. It takes a
lot to define a genre, but it takes some serious talent to transcend
that very name that you create. This album will make you want to burn
down the White House, it will make you want to stay in bed for 2011, it
will make you want to create on your own and for yourself, it will do a
lot of things to you. I can’t even begin to comment on the sound of this
band, so I won’t. Just listen.
Download
3. Tallest Man on Earth- The Wild Hunt

I’d be hard pressed to find a more beautiful example of a good old folk
record. He makes songs so simple and so subtle every line will just turn
your guts around. If you’re looking for an excuse to drive across the
country, buy this album and I promise you’ll be gone.
Download
2. Jonsi- Go

Take tall grass, sprouting flowers of every color you wish everything was
made of, unhidden smiles, the whole sun herself and warm clothes and a
summer evening and put it in a blender, the result might make you smile
half as much as this beautiful piece of art will. Jonsi (of Sigur Ros)
and his angelic voice is simultaneously at his softest and most
controlled, and at his largest and most raw. I was glad to hear an album
this year in my top few that didn’t make me just want to quit waking.
Download
1. Joanna Newsom- Have One On Me

I don’t know where to begin on this one. I really don’t. Dear Joanna did
away with all of the heavy-handed baroque stuff from Y’s and wrote
herself a stunning epic with the softest touch. There are moments in
this album more devastating than anything I could imagine, and just when
you are at your lowest, she will turn on you. Lock yourself in a room
with this record like a shaman in the sweat lodge; you will leave it a
new man. Joanna Newsom is my spirit animal.
Yep. Done.

Leave a Reply

