Butterfly Explosions- Lost Trails

Posted: December 23, 2010 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, Reviews
Tags: , , ,

I’ve heard from some of our readers that this was one of their favorite albums of 2010, and by listening to it only once, I could figure out why Lost Trails got all the attention it gathered: in short, it’s some really good post-rock with some dreamy vocals. This 5-piece from Ireland is has gotten a lot of hype from the likes of The Siren’s Sound, but in all honesty, the music was great, the vocals were decent, but putting them together just didn’t really do it for me. It had some good stuff, don’t get me wrong, but it certainly wasn’t in the top 10 albums of 2010 for me. In the beginning, the vocals actually really worked, but after about 10 songs and 30 minutes, they may fizzle out in terms of new and interesting sound. I really feel a vocal overload with Butterfly Explosion (as compared to Ef, one of my top 10 picks), but if you’re into that sort of thing, you should definitely pick this up. If you’re pretty much a purist like me, give it a chance and hopefully it will grow on you.

Rating: 2/5 kegs. Maybe with enough time, I’ll go back and score it higher, but after 5 listens through, this is where I stand.

 

 

Download here

B.

Leave a Reply

