Cicada- Over The Sea/Under The Water

Posted: December 15, 2010 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album, Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

“People are aware of cicada’s existence by their sound but not their forms.”

I’ve never heard something this beautiful in my entire life. Going into listening to this album, I had high expectations because they were one of the top 5 new bands of 2010 on this poll on Facebook, and they absolutely blew me out of the water. I have listened to this entire album over 7 times in the past 8 hours, and every time, it’s just something more to me. I can’t describe it.

Cicada is a 4-piece band hailing from Taiwan and they play post-rock. Nothing seems out of the ordinary until you hit play and realize, Wait, where are the drums? Fact is: there’s no drums, and there’s not even a bassist either. It’s just a piano, a guitar, a violin and a cello. Now, that sets up for the makings of what appears to be a regular, old orchestra, but if that’s what you wanted, you’re just not getting it. The violin will sweep you away, especially on the title track. The last three, however, are the standout tracks on this release. Listening to them straight through, I got the feeling of a loving relationship that was being tested and strained, and they conveyed this so well that you truly feel the couple’s emotions just seeping through the roaring violin and inspirational piano. It takes a lot for me to have my jaw drop at the end of an album and just think, That was one of the best things I’ve ever heard. This album certainly did it because they are just to breathtakingly beautiful, so emotion-drawing, that I can’t stop listening to it.

Is This Revolutionary?: Yes, this album is incredible. Seriously, listening to it, even now the 10th time, I always find something new to hear and a new emotion to discover, and I think that’s what this genre is truly about: taking yourself on an emotional trip to a land of happiness, a land of sorrow, or making the listener feel exactly as you do while playing/writing it. Without any vocals, that may seem hard to do, but Cicada does it like they’ve been doing it for years, and it’s only their first EP. Listen and discover.

Rating: 5/5 Powder Kegs

 

 

Download Here and then, seriously

Purchase Here (You’re going to want to own this [2 different purchase links])

B.

Leave a Reply

