As I Watch You From Afar- The Letters (2010)

Posted: November 24, 2010 by Is This Revolutionary? in Album
Tags: , , ,

I stumbled across this band while reading up on Maybeshewill. They had toured together at one point, so I decided to give their latest EP, The Letters, a listen. So I didn’t give an unbalanced view of their work, I listened to their whole discography before I wrote this, so I’ve been running on AIWYFA for the past couple of hours now. What I can tell you is that their old music is very original, cowbells, stamping, and at what point sounded like Gregorian monk chants. This new EP doesn’t seems to dive into anything new, however. Whereas their self-titled album was full of  new, fun sounds, this album sounded like a repeat of their previous successes. Now, I’m not saying that The Letters isn’t good, don’t get me wrong, but it certainly didn’t bring anything exactly new to the table. What I am saying is that it’s a good listen, but do not expect anything out of the ordinary from As I Watch You From Afar.

Is This Revolutionary?: Though good, this isn’t as revolutionary as their last releases. Hopefully, this is just was an announcement from the band telling the music world that they are still around, making music and whatnot. I guarantee, with their next release, they will knock our socks off with a new, cutting-edge sound.

Download here

B.

Leave a Reply

